MA/PhD Session Schedule
2022

June 16 - July 31 (Saas-Fee, Switzerland)
July 23 - September 15 (Online seminars)
October 19 - November 2 (Valetta, Malta)

Seminars in Saas-Fee, Switzerland

DATE
Lecturer
Seminar

June 16

Dean Christopher Fynsk
Arrival Day and Orientation Session

June 17-20

Alenka Zupančič
Back to the Future of the End

June 21

Break Day

June 22-25

Catherine Malabou
Hegel's Phenomenology of Spirit, part I

June 26

Sreten Ugričić
"The Emperor's New Clothes" is a story about art (workshop)

June 27-30

Elie During
Would you care for some metaphysics? Time, Event and the End of Nature

July 1

Break Day

July 2-5

Avital Ronell
On Haunted Writing: From Jean-Luc Nancy, Freud, & Derrida to the Disinscribed Past

July 6

Break Day

July 7-10

Christopher Fynsk, Rob Wallace, and Guests to be announced
The Possibility and Exigency of Cross-Disciplinary Thought

July 11

Science Colloquium with Michael Mann, award-winning climate scientist

July 12-15

Slavoj Žižek
Freedom and Its Discontents

July 16

Break Day

July 17-20

Achille Mbembe
The Earthly Community

July 21

Break Day

July 22-25

Peter Szendy
Pneumatopolitics: Respiring and Conspiring

July 26

Break Day

July 27-30

Mladen Dolar
Crisis of Psychoanalysis

July 31

Departure Day

Seminar structure

Seminars in Saas-Fee and Valetta will be held in afternoons over a 4-day period, from 2-4 pm Paris time (8-10 am New York time) and 5:30-7:30 pm Paris time (11:30-1:30 pm New York time). The seminars will be livestreamed and available to students who are unable to be present in Saas-Fee during the session. Students can choose to complete their seminar obligations in person or online.

The Orientation Session with Dean Christopher Fynsk will start at 7 pm Paris time (1 pm New York time).

 

Online seminars

DATE
Lecturer
Seminar

August 13, 14, 20, 21, 27, 28

Lars Iyer
Creative Writing in the End Times: Working With Apocalypse

September 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, 18

Benjamin Bratton
Planetary Sapience: Epistemological Technologies and the Deep Time of the Future

September 26, 27,  October, 1,2, 8, 9

Gina Dent
Visualising Abolition

October 10, 12, 16

Judith Butler
Seminar with Judith Butler

Fully online seminars will start at  6:30-8:30 pm Paris time (12:30-2:30 pm New York time).

Professor Butler will hold 2 sessions per day.

 

Seminars in Valetta, Malta

DATE
Lecturer
Seminar

October 19

Dean Christopher Fynsk
Arrival Day and Orientation Session

October 20-23

Dagmawi Woubshet and Manthia Diawara
Contemporary Black Thought

October 24

Break Day

October 25-28

Etienne Balibar
Universalism, Perpetual Peace or Perpetual War?

October 29

Lars Iyer
Academic Writing Workshop (online)

October 30

Break Day

October 31-November 2

Christopher Fynsk, Robert Brewer Young, and Michael Schmidt
The Musical Line